Monday, 27 March 2017

Yates & Delany - No Country For Old Men (2017)

Yates & Delany
No Country For Old Men EP

1. No Country For Old Men - part 1 (3:37)
2. No Country For Old Men - part 2 (3:42)
3. No Country For Old Men - part 3 (3:02)

Google search: page 1 - page 2

Sunday, 26 March 2017

Diamanda Galás - All The Way (2017)

Diamanda Galás
All The Way

The first new Diamanda Galas album in nine years. "All The Way" features remarkable, radical takes on familiar tunes, including the seminal "The Thrill Is Gone" and a solo piano interpretation of Thelonious Monk's "'Round Midnight". The album's centerpiece is the American traditional "O Death", which has become a staple in live performances, and concludes with "Pardon Me I've got Someone To Kill" by country singer Johnny Paycheck. "All The Way" includes both electric live recordings (recorded in Paris, Copenhagen, and East Sussex) and studio recordings made in San Diego, CA.

01. All the Way [7:16]
02. You Don't Know What Love Is [6:23]
03. The Thrill Is Gone [7:19]
04. Round Midnight [4:16]
05. O Death [10:55]
06. Pardon me I've Got Someone to Kill [4:56]

Google search: page 1 - page 2 - page 3 - page 4

Diamanda Galás - At Saint Tomas the Apostle Harlem (2017)

Diamanda Galás
At Saint Tomas the Apostle Harlem (live)

"At Saint Thomas the Apostle Harlem" documents Galas' volcanic May 2016 performances as Saint Thomas the Apostle church in Harlem, NY, described by the New York Times as "guttural and operatic, baleful and inconsolable, spiritual and earthy, polyglot and wordless, nuanced and unhinged". The concert, produced by Intravenal Sound Operations and Red Bull Music Academy, was composed exclusively of what Galas calls "death songs." Sung in Italian, German, French, and Greek, the performances include Galas' dramatic settings of the death poems by Cesare Pavese and Ferdinand Freiligrath, as well as interpretations of songs by Jacques Brel ("Fernand", "Amsterdam") and Albert Ayler ("Angels," sung by Galas, who has always believed that Ayler's work is also vocal music).
- IsraBox (24.03.2017)

01. Verrá la more e avrá tuoi occhi [8:51]
02. Anoixe Petra [5:20]
03. Angels [5:09]
04. Die Stunde Kommt [9:39]
05. Fernand [5:39]
06. O Death [10:06]
07. Amsterdam [6:28]
08. Artemis [5:31]

Saturday, 25 March 2017

Friday, 24 March 2017

The Residents - The Ghost Of Hope (2017)

The Residents
The Ghost Of Hope

Following their long tradition of projects based on narrative themes, The Residents are pleased to announce the release of The Ghost of Hope, an historically accurate album based on train wrecks. Pursuing this theme in both a literal and metaphorical sense, the group discovered a series of vintage news articles highlighting the dangers of train travel in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Inspired by the era's elegant language, the group then contrasted that eloquence against the sheer horror of these devastating events, resulting in an album that sounds both startlingly new and curiously nostalgic. Using the familiar elements of music, spoken voice, sound effects and audio textures, The Residents have constructed a highly original series of tone poems quite unlike the music of anyone else - except, of course, The Residents. The album features guest collaborator Eric Drew Feldman - who has worked with everybody cool, so he's already in your record collection.

01. Horrors of the Night [7:25]
02. The Crash at Crush [6:33]
03. Death Harvest [7:23]
04. Shroud of Flames [5:43]
05. The Great Circus Train Wreck of 1918 [7:03]
06. Train vs Elephant [4:07]
07. Killed at a Crossing [9:01]

Google search: page 1 - page 2 - page 3 - page 4

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...